Gallery: Grolier Treasure Chest (5)

The Grolier Treasure Chest is a set of books about Ariel and her friends Sebastian, Flounder, Flounder's sister Sandy, Scuttle, and Scales the dragon, living together at an island. It looks like this series was meant to be a tie-in with the proposed Little Mermaid's Island TV series by Jim Henson. There were 24 books in all, and they're arranged on these pages in alphabetical order.

How Does Your Garden Grow?
Sandy and Flounder discover a beautiful underwater garden, but before they can share it with the rest of their friends, spoilsports Flotsam and Jetsam sabotage the place. It's up to the gang to help plant the garden again, with Sandy being the most passionate for it.

The Magic Melody
Ursula has a new plan to get her hands on the trident, which is to hypnotize Ariel using an enchanted music box, and then order the brainwashed Ariel to collect the trident for her. It would've worked, too, if it weren't for that meddling crab.

Paradise Island
Ariel's feeling a little bored with life on the island and seeks something exciting. She sends out a message in a bottle in the hopes of befriending someone new and, to her surprise, someone replies! Ariel is excited about it, but Sebastian is cautious, and for good reason.

Scared Silly
One night Sebastian tells a story that is so scary that it has the rest of the gang jumping at shadows. Separately, the friends bemoan Sebastian's awesome storytelling skills and wish to exact revenge, so that Sebastian will have a taste of his own medicine.

+ previous page + next page

+ back to gallery +

comments powered by Disqus